Deschutes Cultural Coalition Announces 2018 Ben Westlund Memorial Award

Sunriver Music Festival Executive Director, Pam Beezley is 2018's Ben Westlund Award Winner
LTR:  Pam Beezley, Saxophonist Patrick Lamb, LPMS Principal Robi Phinney, LPMS & LPHS Music Teacher Michael Chavarin.

The Deschutes Cultural Coalition is pleased to announce Pam Beezley, Executive Director of the Sunriver Music Festival and ACA Board Member is the recipient of the 2018 Ben Westlund Award.

Pam has served as the executive director for the Sunriver Music Festival since 2006. Under her direction, Pam not only steered SMF through the Great Recession, but broadened SMF’s youth and after school programs bringing music education to schools in need. Pam earned SMF a highly competitive Studio to Schools grant to provide music education to La Pine Middle and High School. Additionally, SMF started the After School Orchestra at Three Rivers School to for Sunriver elementary students. Under her guidance, SMF celebrated their 40th Anniversary Season in 2017.

“Pam combines knowing how to deal effectively and wisely with the myriad challenges of a non-profit with an amazing gift of staying cool under pressure and respectful to everyone. She speaks effortlessly to our audiences, has a professional grasp of fiscal matters and shows a love and impressive knowledge of classical music,” said Philip Ruder, Sunriver Music Festival Board President. “SRMF is so lucky to have Pam as our ED!”

The members of the Deschutes Cultural Coalition established the Ben Westlund Memorial Award in 2012 to honor the memory of Ben Westlund, who as a member of the Oregon House of Representatives co-sponsored the bill that created the Oregon Cultural Trust. Like many others in Oregon the board considers Ben to be the father of the Oregon Cultural Trust. Ben was taken too early by cancer in 2010 at the age of 60 while serving as our Oregon State Treasurer. Ben believed in creating access to arts and culture for everyone.

To date the Deschutes Cultural Coalition has honored the following individuals, programs and institutions:

2012 Brad Tisdel, Americana Project, Sisters

2013 Brad Porterfield, Latino Community Association

2014 Carol Leone, Museum at Warm Springs

2015 City of Redmond

2016 Bob Boyd, High Desert Museum

2017 Les Joslin, Deschutes National Forest

Featured Posts
Recent Posts